Interview with WL Samuel, author of Touching Widows

Book: Touching Widows

W.L. Samuel is an Antiguan author, who gave me a bit of advice as an aspiring author. As a self published author I thought it would be great to interview him for my blog and see what other bits of wisdom he could impart.

Brief summary of Touching Widows
“Why am I here?” Were the first words that entered Bishop’s mind when he finds himself in a cemetery. He discovers why as he is pulled into one tragedy after another from New York to Florida.

Publisher: AuthorHouse
Genre: Fiction

Published: 01/19/2009

1. What inspired you to start writing?
I write for the love of writing. I use to write as a hobby, a short story here and there, a poem here and there. Until one day my wife encouraged me to enter a poetry competition which I won. I guess you can say my eyes opened to what my wife has been telling me all along, that I write well enough to be a published author. It was then I was inspired and dreamed to be successful author.
2. Where did you get the inspiration for the book, Touching Widows?
I honestly have to say divine intervention, because my original idea died as soon as the pen touched the paper.
3. Why base the book in the US and not in Antigua?
The story was based in the U.S for two reasons: 1- that is the territory I was most familiar with. 2- I have knowledge of events taking place in the said location. So, even though Touching Widows is fictional, it is fiction based on reality. Scary but true, things happen in Touching Widows that has happened in real life and is still happening today.
4. Do you share any personal traits with your main character Bishop?
I think we all have multiple personalities, especially writers. I believe Bishop is the angelical side of me.
5. Why did you decide to self publish and why use AuthorHouse? I’m thinking to use Kindle Direct Publishing or BookBaby, they both have a print on demand service.
I decided to self-publish because my wife suggested it. I chose Author House (AH) because I submitted my manuscript to several companies and AH responded in two days and express how excited they were about my book and the fact that it wasn’t redundant. They said the story doesn’t sound like it has been told before and it has movie qualities. The mention of movie hooked me.
6. Do you have any favourite authors and did they in any way influence what you chose to write?
My favorite authors are John Grisham, James Clavell, Mario Puzo, James Patterson, and Tom Clancy. They do not influence what I choose to write.
7. Do you have any other books in the works?
I have Poetry From My Mind To Yours which was published December 2012. I am putting the finishing touch on my new novel and hope to have it published by August.
8. Any advice for an aspiring author like myself?
My advice to you and anyone who wants to be an author is never quit. I have seen negative criticism about best selling authors books so that tells me to let them talk because the numbers of your fans don’t lie. And if you’re at a level where you don’t have fans in the millions, its alright, be patient and keep writing.
Where to Buy
2 thoughts on “Interview with WL Samuel, author of Touching Widows

Leave a Reply

