Pinterest project…

I think I’ve mentioned a few times that I have a bit off a Pinterest obsession. Something Swanky has some great Pinterest boards showcasing her recipes and a couple weeks ago there were a few on making granola bars.

So I decided to try my hand at making some.  I didn’t have a specific recipe that I followed…Kinda created my own.  Here goes:

IMG_0265

Banana Raisin Granola Bars

  • 4 cups oats
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 2 tbsps corn syrup
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon & nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla essence

Mix the oats, raisins, cinnamon, nutmeg and coconut in a large bowl.  Mash bananas and add to bowl.  Melt sugar, butter & corn syrup together. Watch carefully and try not to burn the sugar (like I did! lol).  Let that mixture come to slow boil. Add vanilla last.  Add the syrup miture to the oats mix in the bowl.  Mix well, coating all the oats with the syrup.  Spread granola in a parchment lined baking sheet.

Bake for 30-40 mins at 200 degrees. When cool, cut into squares.

When I did it I only used 2 1/5 cups of oats and it came out a little flat so I adjusted the recipe.  The end result tasted really good.  Next time I don’t think I’ll use the bananas.

 

Leave a Reply

