Happily Nappy…

I’ve been sporting an afro for the past year and a half now.  For about 10 years I had dreads and decided to cut them off when I got pregnant with my son.  Then I got my hair texturized a few weeks later.  Big mistake!  To fix that mistake I did something I never thought I would do again…I shaved all my hair off.  I was self conscious about it for weeks until it grew out a little.

Natural hair has its challenges. It takes forever to get it to look ‘normal’ since my hair is very thick and I have enough patience to fill a thimble.  But on days when I get that twist out to look good, I feel like a model (ha!).

PicMonkey Collage

Right now I have a tapered afro and there are days when I regret ever going to the barber but then I’m learning to appreciate it and trying to werk the style.  I have a Pinterest board where I post all my natural hair inspirations and advice called Happily Nappy.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Happily Nappy…

  1. Love this post. I am not natural myself (my mom has been relaxing my hair since I was 2… rough times, I know) but I always admire those who decide to go on the natural journey. It’s a lot of work. Kudos! 🙂

    • Thanks. Yes it is alot of work but I am actually becoming more self reliant (in terms of my hair). I had a relaxer prior to getting dreads and I never could do my own hair. But now I’m styling it myself, doing braids and twists. I’m having fun trying out new styles.

Leave a Reply

